Bauhaus reflected
in the
Mathildenhöhe
EN / DE VR-Installation

The utopia of a chance passed over​

Founded 100 years ago in Weimar, Bauhaus wrote a global history in architecture, design and painting. Lesser known than the school of design itself are its references to Darmstadt‘s Mathildenhöhe, the birthplace of the international Art Nouveau movement and the early setting for the activities undertaken by many Bauhaus legends.

Walter Gropius, founder of the Bauhaus, worked here in the architectural office of Peter Behrens, as did Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and Le Corbusier, which made the Darmstadt architectural office of particular importance. The famous Bauhaus Archive, planned by Walter Gropius in 1964 and erected on Berlin‘s Landwehr Canal in 1979, was originally designed for Darmstadt’s Rosenhöhe and refers through the shape of its roof to the five-finger tower of Mathildenhöhe.

The city of Darmstadt had rejected its placement there when Gropius had offered to reopen the Bauhaus in the city of Darmstadt after the Weimar facilities were closed, as it was unable to finance the building in its original design. Just as it had done in 1920.

All these connections gave a group of six students the opportunity to deal with the history of the faculty – located on the Mathildenhöhe in Darmstadt – and its connections to the Bauhaus. Subsequently, they designed an award-winning VR installation in which the Bauhaus in Darmstadt can be experienced in VR.

Bauhaus Dessau
Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt
Walter Gropius, founder of the Bauhaus, worked with Peter Behrens, who also belonged to the artists’ colony. At the same time, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and Le Corbusier also worked in this office, which made the Darmstadt architectural office of particular importance.
Walter Gropius
Joseph Maria Olbrich
Joseph Maria Olbrich, a designer and architect of the Vienna School. He is considered the leading figure of the artists’ colony on Darmstadt’s Mathildenhöhe, the birthplace of Art Nouveau, which was founded in 1899 by Grand Duke Ernst Ludwig of Hessen.

The exhibition

The exhibition “Form and Ambush” in the Designhaus Darmstadt illuminates the connections between the Bauhaus and the Darmstadt Mathildenhöhe that may have gone partially unnoticed.

“Form and Ambush” thus aims to open up a new, astonishing perspective on the Bauhaus and the Mathildenhöhe. It tells a story of human relations and conflicts between the two institutions, intellectual backgrounds, personal connections, historical coincidences and their effective influences. Among other things, it addresses Alma Mahler’s love stories with Joseph Maria Olbrich and Walter Gropius; or how Otto Bartning unsuccessfully tried to invite Gropius to the Darmstadt discussion “Man and Space” in 1951. In the studio from 1901, Prince Ludwig von Hessen raised the foundations of the Bauhaus Archive in 1961. However, the encounters in the light of the Mathildenhöhe did not always go harmoniously.

Ausstellung im Designhaus Darmstadt
Exhibition at the Designhaus Darmstadt

In 2019, the Bauhaus is located in Darmstadt​​​​​​​

The exhibition also poses the question as to what would have happened if the Bauhaus had moved to Darmstadt, as was under discussion at the time, and not to Dessau in 1925. For this purpose, an interactive virtual reality installation allows visitors to immerse themselves in Gropius’ famous Dessau building, which a team of students from the Design Department under the direction of Prof. Philipp Thesen has placed virtually directly behind Olbrich’s exhibition building.

Virtual Reality makes history come alive​​​​​​​

The students researched the choice of location on Mathildenhöhe for the planned relocation in 1920. They simulated the famous Bauhaus building on a partially unoccupied site bordering the School of Arts and Crafts – today‘s Department of Design, opposite the Darmstadt artists‘ colony.
Workshops and furnishing details of the Bauhaus were set up on the basis of historical photos and original floor plans using Blender; it was animated in Unity.

This resulted in an interactive VR experience that allows the user to move within the architectural utopia of the Bauhaus construction on the Mathildenhöhe in Darmstadt. This allows the user to discover charming details about the relationships between the two institutions of Bauhaus and Mathildenhöhe as well as the people who lived there. For example, in the drawer of Walter Gropius’ desk in his study there is a secret letter from Alma Mahler, who – as research into historical events revealed – was having a liaison with Joseph Maria Olbrich from Darmstadt.

Cabinets can be opened and their contents explored; vases and other objects can be grabbed and even broken if you feel like it. A small architectural model of the whole scene you are in is placed in one of the back rooms, allowing the viewer to see the whole thing from a different perspective. In one of the rooms the visitor has the possibility to experiment with a little shipbuilding game by Alma Siedhoff-Buscher (1923) in virtual reality.

In the spirit of the Bauhaus, which strove to revolutionize architecture by integrating further art practices, various disciplines were interwoven into a complete work of art. Contemporary tools of designers serve as a medium for a design-historical reappraisal. This opens up a new way for viewers to playfully learn about history and gain insight into the constantly changing and expanding horizons of the discipline of design.

Interaktive VR-Experience "Das Bauhaus im Spiegel der Mathildenhöhe"
Virtual Reality installation: "Bauhaus reflected in the Mathildenhöhe"
Virtual Reality installation:
German Design Award

Gold

German Design Award 2021 Category Interactive User xperience

“Moving through the installation, going up to work benches, touching tools and seeing what is being worked on at that moment is fascinating. The grandiose VR installation lets the utopia of Bauhaus in Darmstadt become virtual reality„

ADC Wettbewerb

Silver

Art Director Club Competition 2020
Category Student works — Digital

“(…) out of the task of representing a utopia, they have built a time machine in a very real way, with an immersive love of detail (…) an unbelievable discovery of the classical Modern Age using the most modern of technologies — for us an unbelievably mature term paper in the digital field”
C2A Competition Los Angeles

Award

C2 Award Los Angeles 2019
Innovative Technologien – VR

 ” Fascinating, immersive, excellent ! “

VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
The VR installation was created 2019 in the field of Human-System-Interaction under the direction of Prof. Philipp Thesen at Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences. Assistance: Moritz Mohr
 
 

Students

  • Moritz Mohr (Industrial Design)
  • Hans Hohmann (Industrial Design)
  • David Blumberg (Industrial Design)
  • Sahra Kolossa (Industrial Design)
  • Ruixian He (Industrial Design)
  • Michael Eiden (Communication-Design)

Das Bauhaus im
Spiegel der
Mathildenhöhe
EN / DE Eine interaktive VR-Experience

Utopie einer verpassten Chance

Vor 100 Jahren in Weimar gegründet, sollte das Bauhaus Weltgeschichte in Architektur, Design und Malerei schreiben. Wenig bekannt sind dabei die mannigfaltigen Bezüge zur Darmstädter Mathildenhöhe, des Geburtsortes der internationalen Jugendstilbewegung und frühen Wirkungsstätte vieler Bauhaus-Legenden.

9Das berühmte Bauhaus-Archiv, von Walter Gropius 1964 geplant und am Berliner Landwehrkanal 1976 eröffnet, wurde ursprünglich für die Darmstädter Rosenhöhe entworfen und bezieht sich in seiner Dachform auf den Fünf-Finger-Turm der Mathildenhöhe. Die Stadt Darmstadt hatte den Bau jedoch in seinem ursprünglichen Entwurf nicht finanzieren können und lehnte ebenso wie schon in den 1920er Jahren ab, als Gropius der Stadt Darmstadt die Neueröffnung des Bauhauses vor dessen drohender Schließung in Weimar anbot.

All diese Zusammenhänge boten Studierenden des Fachbereichs Gestaltung der Hochschule Darmstadt Anlass, zum 100-jährigen Jubiläum eine mehrfach ausgezeichnete VR-Installation zu gestalten, die die Utopie des Bauhauses  auf der Mathildenhöhe in VR Wirklichkeit werden lässt. 

Bauhaus Dessau
Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt

Walter Gropius, Gründer des Bauhauses, arbeitete bei Peter Behrens, der ebenfalls zur Künstlerkolonie gehörte. Zeitgleich arbeiteten in diesem Büro ebenso Ludwig Mies van der Rohe und Le Corbusier, wodurch das Architekturbüro besondere Bedeutung erlangte.

Walter Gropius
Joseph Maria Olbrich

Joseph Maria Olbrich, ein Designer und Architekt der Wiener Schule. Er gilt als die Führungsfigur der Künstlerkolonie auf der Darmstädter Mathildenhöhe, der Geburtsstätte des Jugendstils, die von 1899 durch Großherzog Ernst Ludwig von Hessen gegründet wurde.

Die Ausstellung Gestalt und Hinterhalt

Die Ausstellung „Gestalt und Hinterhalt” im Designhaus Darmstadt beleuchtet die zum Teil unbeachteten Zusammenhänge des Bauhauses und der Darmstädter Mathildenhöhe.

“Gestalt und Hinterhalt” möchte so einen neuen, verblüffenden Blick auf das Bauhaus und die Mathildenhöhe eröffnen: auf menschliche Beziehungen und Konflikte zwischen den beiden Institutionen, geistige Hintergründe, personelle Verflechtungen, historische Zufälle und wirkungsvolle Einflüsse. Es geht unter anderem um Alma Mahlers Liebesgeschichten mit Joseph Maria Olbrich und Walter Gropius oder darum, wie Otto Bartning 1951 vergeblich versucht, Gropius zum Darmstädter Gespräch »Mensch und Raum« einzuladen. Im Atelierhaus von 1901 hebt Prinz Ludwig von Hessen dann 1961 das Bauhaus-Archiv aus der Taufe. Doch die Begegnungen im Spiegel der Mathildenhöhe verlaufen nicht immer sehr harmonisch.

 

Ausstellung im Designhaus Darmstadt
Exhibition at the Designhaus Darmstadt

Das Bauhaus auf der Mathildenhöhe

Die Ausstellung stellt auch die Frage, was gewesen wäre, wenn das Bauhaus 1925 nicht nach Dessau, sondern nach Darmstadt gezogen wäre, so wie es damals im Gespräch war. Dazu lässt sich in einer interaktiven Virtual-Reality-Installation in den berühmten Dessauer Bau von Gropius eintauchen, den ein studentisches Team des Fachbereichs Gestaltung unter der Leitung von Prof. Philipp Thesen virtuell direkt hinter Olbrichs Ausstellungsgebäude platziert hat.

Die Virtual Reality Installation

Das berühmte Bauhausgebäude simulierte das Team auf einem teilweise leerstehenden Grundstück in Angrenzung an die Kunstgewerbeschule, dem heutigen Fachbereich Design, vis-a-vis der Darmstädter Künstlerkolonie. Dieses wurde von den Studierenden vollständig in 3D-Modellen aufgebaut und aufwändig animiert. 

Werkstätten und Einrichtungsdetails des Bauhauses wurden auf Grundlage historischer Fotos und ursprünglicher Grundrisse in Blender aufgebaut sowie in Unity animiert.

Als Ergebnis entstand eine interaktive VR Experience, die dem Nutzer erlaubt, sich in der architektonischen Utopie der Errichtung des Bauhauses auf der Darmstädter Mathildenhöhe zu bewegen und charmante Details über die Bezüge der beiden Institutionen Bauhaus und Mathildenhöhe sowie der Menschen, die dort lebten, zu entdecken. So findet sich beispielsweise in der Schublade von Walter Gropius Schreibtisch in seinem Arbeitszimmer einen heimlichen Brief von Alma Mahler, die – wie die Recherche historischer Begebenheiten ergab – eine Liaison mit Joseph Maria Olbrich aus Darmstadt unterhielt.

Schränke lassen sich öffnen und deren Inhalt Erkunden, Vasen und andere Objekte lassen sich greifen und sogar kaputt schmeißen, wenn einem danach ist. Ein kleines Architektur Modell der gesamten Szene in der man sich befindet steht in einem der hinteren Räume und ermöglicht es dem Betrachter das ganze noch mal aus einer anderen Perspektive zu betrachten und in einem der Räume eröffnet sich dem Besucher die Möglichkeit mit dem kleinen Schiffbauspiel von Alma Siedhoff-Buscher (1923) in der virtuellen Realität zu experimentieren. 

Ganz im Sinne des Bauhauses, welches eine Revolution der Architektur durch die Integration weiterer Kunstpraktiken anstrebte, wurden hier verschiedene Disziplinen zu einem Gesamtkunstwerk verwoben: als Medium die für die designhistorische Aufarbeitung dienen die zeitgenössischen Werkzeuge von Gestaltern, wodurch sich für Betrachtende eine neuartige Weise zur spielerischen geschichtlichen Weiterbildung und ein Einblick in den sich stetig wandelnden und erweiternden Wirkhorizont der Disziplin Design erschließt.

 

Interaktive VR-Experience "Das Bauhaus im Spiegel der Mathildenhöhe"
Virtual Reality installation: "Bauhaus reflected in the Mathildenhöhe"
Interaktive VR-Experience
German Design Award

Gold

German Design Award 2021

Kategorie Interactive User Experience

” Faszinierend, sich durch die Installation zu bewegen, Werkbänke aufzusuchen, Werkzeuge zu berühren und zu sehen, woran gerade gearbeitet wird. Diese grandiose VR-Installation lässt die Utopie des Bauhauses in Darmstadt virtuelle Wirklichkeit werden “

ADC Wettbewerb

Silber

ADC Junior Wettbewerb 2020

Kategorie Semesterarbeiten Digital

” (…) denn aus der Aufgabe, eine Utopie darzustellen, haben sie ganz real und in immersiver Liebe zum Detail eine Zeitmaschine gebaut (…) ein unglaubliche Entdeckung der Klassischen Moderne mit modernster Technologie– und für uns eine noch unglaublich ausgereifte Semester-Arbeit im Bereich Digital “

C2A Competition Los Angeles

Auszeichnung

C2 Award Los Angeles 2019

Innovative Technologien – VR

 ” Fascinating, immersive, excellent ! “

VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
VR installation at the Designhaus Darmstadt
Eine Arbeit des Fachbereichs Gestaltung der Hochschule Darmstadt

Die VR-Installation entstand im Sommersemester 2019 unter Leitung von Prof. Philipp Thesen im Lehrgebiet Mensch-System-Interaktion an der Hochschule Darmstadt. Assistenz: Moritz Mohr
 

Studierende

  • Moritz Mohr (Industrie-Design)
  • Hans Hohmann (Industrie-Design)
  • David Blumberg (Industrie-Design)
  • Sahra Kolossa (Industrie-Design)
  • Ruixian He (Industrie-Design)
  • Michael Eiden (Kommunikations-Design)